Laughter Yoga and Your Health

It’s a little depressing, but also extremely appropriate, that I would post an article about how Laughter Yoga can make you feel healthier… the same day I’m diagnosed with strep!

But I caught it early, because it’s very rare that I actually get sick. Sure, I have chronic conditions, which are manageable, but I rarely get acutely ill – colds are extremely rare, I never get the flu (and I can’t even get vaccinated for that!), and I got a sinus infection about seven months ago, but nothing until today.

Could Laughter Yoga be the “culprit”? I think so. Since I discovered Laughter Yoga in 2014, I have definitely become a physically healthier person. I’m confident, comfortable in my own skin and WAY less likely to light a cigarette now than in years past (smoke-free since 2011, after an 18-year habit).

But that’s not all Laughter Yoga can help with. According to an article at CureJoy.com, “10 Mental and Physical Health Benefits of Laughter Yoga“,  “Laughter Yoga is an effective method to cure many mental and physical health disorders in a natural way.” Also according to the article, Laughter Yoga:

  • Relieves Stress
  • Boosts the Immune System
  • Improves Cardiac Health
  • Acts as an Effective Exercise
  • Lessens Respiratory Ailments
  • Acts as a Natural Pain Killer
  • Increases Stamina – and More!

 

I could go on and on about the health benefits of Laughter Yoga, but I think it’s much more effective to see it for yourself. Below is a video of Robert Rivest, a renowned comic mime artist as well as a health, literacy and stress relief educator, mindfulness teacher, a Certified Laughter Yoga Master Trainer and an engaging public speaker.

Here he is laughing with the Laguna Beach Laughter Club – feel free to Laugh along 🙂

 

Laughter is a wonderful gift that we’ve been given! Very good, very good, YAY!!

Leave a Reply

